Powder Girl of the Day: Isabel Allende

I read my first Isabel Allende novel–Daughter of Fortune–while I was teaching English as a Second Language in Vitrolles, France. I was having a serious bout of home sickness and stopped by an English language bookstore, picking her novel up off the sale shelf. Ms. Allende perked me up with her rich, illustrative language, getting the creative juices flowing. Like most things I enjoy, I fell hard and fast. This woman’s use of language is nothing short of incredible. A little background about this fascinating writer: she is Chilean and the niece of assassinated Chilean president Salvador Allende (he was murdered as part of a military coup in 1973); she was raised in her grandparent’s home in Santiago, Chile; her grandmother was a spiritualist, an avid reader and deeply interested in astrology and fortune telling; the young Isabel was allowed to read the gamut of books in her grandparent’s extensive reading collection.  This had a profound influence on the woman Ms. Allende was to become. Fleeing to Venezuela with her husband and two children after her uncles assassination, she wasn’t able to re-establish the career as a columnist and television host she’d had such success with in Chile. This professional break, however, inadvertently led to her debut career as a novelist. Her first novel–House of Spirits–was published in 1982. She has since won several prestigious awards, including Chile’s National Prize for Literature (Sept 2nd, 2011) and the Dorthy and Lilian Gish Prize for excellence in the arts. One bit of yummy Powder Girl information I must pass on about this daring woman. While in California, she met and moved in with her second husband William Gordan within days of having met him. I learned this delicious info from the writer herself while I was sitting in the parking lot of Sam’s Club, glued to my seat as I listened to Ms. Allende’s interview on NPR. Passion and love cannot be stopped…I LOVE it! Listen to her story here: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=89478177 OK. Guess I’ve gone on long enough about this lovely lady. I am putting her on my list of people I must meet. Here are the links to her biography and website: http://www.notablebiographies.com/A-An/Allende-Isabel.html and http://www.isabelallende.com/ The book Paula is a novel about the recollections of Ms. Allende and her deceased daughter. Ms. Allende is definitely a Powder Girl to the core. Rock on, baby. Rock on!

About pwdergirl1

Powder Girl believes powerful women rock! Powderful girls are everywhere. My mission is to find you and show the rest of the world have fabulous you are!
This entry was posted in Powder Girl Books, Powder Girl of The Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Powder Girl of the Day: Isabel Allende

    • pwdergirl1 says:

      Hi Manon:

      I like your blog. I checked it out a week or so ago and really enjoyed it. I just posted Concha Buika as my Powder Girl of the Day. As you probably already know, she is an African Flamenco singer. Just wanted to keep you posted. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

